Lahore was captured by British Army on 10th Feb 1846. British Troops initially established their camp in Anarkali. Subsequently Lahore Fort was taken over and garrisoned by troops under the command of Sir Charles Napier.In 1850 Sir Charles Napier proclaimed the present area of Lahore Cantt as Mian Mir Cantonment.

Station Commander was assigned the powers of the Board as Administrator till the constitution of proper Board under section 13 A of the Cantonments Act 1924.

After Local Government Elections in April 2015, a proper Board has been constituted.

Lahore Cantonment has been divided into 10 electoral wards Board comprises.